Welcome to the Columbia Gorge Wine & Pear Fest Blog

It is always amazing what resources we have in our own back yard.  I had driven past the WAAAM (Western Antiques Aero and Auto Museum) in Hood River hundreds of times and always said to myself that I would check it out someday.

Well someday finally came when I went out to the Columbia Gorge Wine and Pear Fest. There were 23 local wineries, 5 local restaurants, 15 local artists and enjoyable entertainment for the whole weekend.   With free entrance to WAAAM Museum being included in the price  what a wonderful day we spent.

Being a Pinot Noir lover I was very happy checking out all the new offerings from the Gorge based wineries.  With my admission I received a very nice wine glass with the event logo along with tokens for tastings from any winery or wineries I chose.  Lots of choices but I did buy some Mt. Hood Winery Pinot Noir and found some other great wines that I had to have including a Jacob Williams Cabernet Sauvignon and a Pinot Gris from Wy’East Vineyards that never made it to the cellar.

I wanted to say something about the Museum also.  I am not a pilot and probably don’t appreciate the amount of old airplanes the way someone who flys would, but what a presentation of every type of plane that you ever dreamed of.  The part that brought back the memories to me was the auto exhibit.  All my dream cars from back in the 60’s and 70’s along with the real antiques that we only see in museums these days were there.

Make a point of joining me May 19th- 20th in Hood River for the repeat of a great time.

Cheers,

Neal Price

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

